Benoit Publishing

For the Words Within

Wisdom

Wisdom

I lay there dreaming in the autumn sun

My head upon my satchel.

Birds were chirping in blessed chorus

As the smiles all grew in joyful fun.

Seven there were, as I remember,

Enjoying the realms before the shivering cold.

Each as full of life as the great Elder,

Under which I lay pondering my thoughts,

Before the coming of darkness.

I knew not what to believe, or whom to see,

As each person bore a facade of their own.

I trusted them with my soul adorn with unwaivering eyes,

Young and fruitful, that had aged with troubles past.

The hazel mixture resulting of a simple concoction

A changing pasture of brown and green.

Alas, though together, I felt alone

under the Elder with which I sought wisdom.

An item of nature, unmoved in all its time, and connected

To natures bosom which caressed the joys of Life.

Still, I bore my question of the dear woman whom I adored.

A crush, an affection, or even just youth?

Was this real or fiction, devout or ignorant?

As I gazed, my eyes turned to the bluff.

The sea of warm red delivered my answer.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment